A Prayer to Conclude

Learning This Week

Crazy how fast time flies. I have spent the past few weeks learning about my faith on a deeper, more meaningful level. This week I decided to study my prayer life. As always in any group we open with prayer and end in prayer, so I thought it would be fitting to end with a prayer.

One of my all-time favorites is when Jesus teaches us to pray.

Luke 11:1-4

He was praying in a certain place and when he ceased, one of his disciples said to him,”Lord, teach us to pray, as John taught his disciples.”

And he said to them, “When you pray, say:

“Our Father, hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our sins, for we ourselves forgive every one who is indebted to us; and lead us not into temptation.””

Jesus taught us to pray to our Father by approaching him in a loving and humbling way. We do not say my father, but our Father because he is not just mine but everyone’s loving Father. He taught us to honor His name above all things and His kingdom will be ours. Do we honor his name, as we pray? God will provide for us. Often times we pray in asking for things, but the Father ultimately gives us what we need. And the hardest: do we forgive other people’s wrong doings to us as easily as our Father forgives ours? We ask for forgiveness, but are we also willing to forgive? And ultimately, we should ask that the Father guides us so that we may not fall into temptations from the enemy, but follow His will for us.

I think this prayer is simple, but meaningful. It offers what we need as Christians to learn and know how to pray. So, I pray daily, as Jesus taught me.

Bible

But above all, I learned that really, as long as I am planted in the good soil that I always have the opportunity to learn and grow in my faith. So, my learning doesn’t stop here. I will continue to grow and prosper.

Canva

I also wanted to take the time to talk about the above image. This week I actually designed it myself! It was so much more fun than I could have ever expected. I used the tool Canva. It was so simple to use. I could have created it in about five minutes, but it took me like an hour because I kept changing things because there were so many options!

I can’t wait to use this in my classroom some day. Several students learn from visuals such as these and I think it’ll be an easy way to incorporate visuals into any lesson plan. Also, I think it would be fun to use it for a screensaver for like a motivational quote of the day, posters, presentations, ways to display data, etc. The possibilities seem to be endless, really.

 

Overall, it’s been a great week of learning through prayer and technology!

 

God bless.

A.

 

Leave a Reply

