Rediscover Catholicism – Duc In Altum

Okay I have some exciting news! I’ve spent the past week reading a great book by Matthew Kelly. It’s called Rediscover Catholicism. As i’ve been reading along, I really have been rediscovering my faith… and let me tell you I love it.

It never occurred to me how much I love being Catholic until after I was confirmed. The Holy Spirit truly awakened my soul… and here I am learning and reading.

This week I got to meet my new priest, he was different, but still a loving man that God sent us and I am forever thankful for his vocation. In fact, I am thankful for all of those who have entered the priesthood or religious life, they are such an inspiration.

This week our parish is holding its annual Duc In Altum retreat. So, the parish has been busy becoming a home for a very loving deacon, receiving a new priest, and organizing the retreat for k-12 graders! It’s all exciting, but all exhausting as well!

Some of you may be wondering what in the world that word “Duc in Altum” means… let me teach you. 🙂

Duc In Altum

5685227252_f863f2807d_b
Photo CC-By Prisca
The Gospel of Luke Chapter 5 – review

When Jesus came to Simon and the other fisherman by the lake of Gennes Aret, Jesus told Simon to cast out his nets again after they had been out all day without a catch.

My thoughts would be like Simon’s thoughts, “But we have been out all day and have caught nothing!” Not to mention that during the time of the apostles it took hours to cast out a net and hours to pull it in.

However, Simon followed His command and when they lifted the net again, it was overflowing in great abundance. Jesus had blessed the men in abundance for His name’s sake.

Then Jesus went on to Simon and said:

“Do not be afraid; henceforth you will be catching men.” (5:10)

The term Duc In Altum is latin for “head into the deep”.

The Gospel of Luke Chapter 9 – review

Jesus sent out his apostles and his disciples to every nation to share the good news of the Father. He sent them to catch men. He sent them out into the deep… and he sent them with nothing but His love and wisdom.

Within this chapter 9 in the Gospel of Luke, Jesus tells them:

“Take nothing for your journey, no staff, nor bag, nor bread, nor money; and do not have two tunics. And whatever house you enter, stay there, and from there depart. And wherever they do not receive you, when you leave that town shake off the dust from your feet as a testimony against them.” (9:3-5)

The disciples had a crazy amount of faith to leave everything that they had worked for and loved behind, to follow Jesus and His plan. It’s so amazing to me and I am forever grateful! I know the Gospels are true!

I am so excited to get the opportunity to become a fisher of men during this week’s retreat. And I cannot wait to see how the Lord will work in the hearts of the young Children and teens in our parish! Keep us in your prayers this week!

12968920045_423e49f3bb_b
Photo- CC By Valeria Sig

Then vs. Now

One thing that I learned this week reading Matthew Kelly’s book is how different the world is now from when the first apostles were sharing the Gospel. The first Christians were so close with Christ that it was easy for them to love differently, live differently, and work differently for Him.

Now, it’s as though we are living 2,000 years removed from him creating a large gap. As I am working on myself through this independent learning project, I am really trying to live like the first apostles lived… and to have a heart set on fire like theirs were – to leave everything behind except Jesus’ love to share the Gospel.

Fun Facts

  • Did you know that Catholicism is the largest Religious group in the world?
  • It is also the largest religious group in the United States.
  • Did you know that there are 15 million more Catholics living in the United States than the amount of people it takes to elect the president?

As always, keep learning 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Rediscover Catholicism – Duc In Altum

  1. This was a great learning lesson! I love learning more about my faith, even if you’ve heard the stories before, reading them again will mean something different to you each time since we are always changing in our everyday life you know? I bet this was really enlightening for you this week. I also love the fun facts at the end, they’ll definitely stick!

    Like

    1. I think that the entire bible gives us new lessons every time we read it! The kids had so much fun during the Duc In Altum retreat! It was great to see the youth so driven with hearts full of Jesus! I would definitely recommend reading Matthew Kelly’s book Rediscover Catholicism. He opened my mind to a lot of different fun facts like that that I had not realized before! Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

