We are called.

24755670569_e590bcbf24_n
Photo CC-By David Munro

This week has been an exceptional learning experience.

So let me start at the beginning. I’ve been taking my journey of faith seriously. The older I’ve gotten the more I have come to realize that truly, Jesus is number one. He’s my savior, he’s my friend, he calls me His Beloved. He loves me like no one else could ever love me.

 

Jesus gives us His undying love and passion and in return I have learned that we are called to be someone. 

We are called to be the light of the world. We are called to love one another. We are called to touch the lives of those around us. To be his disciples, which is different from that of a follower, we are called to be learners of Christ. To never stop learning about him.

In the New Testament, I read the book of Ephesians. The Apostle Paul makes a point to say something about the gifts that we are each given and who we are called to be.

“And his gifts were that some should be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, some pastors and teachers, for the equipment of the saints, for the work of ministry, for building up of the body of Christ, until we all attain to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to mature manhood, to the measure of the stature of the fulness of Christ.” (4:11-13)

The Lord calls us to be someone. Some are called to the priesthood or religious life and others are called to be parents who are teachers of their young. We are called to be part of the body of Christ and to spread the Gospel to others. We are called to live faithfully according to the plan of the Father and to spread God’s Word.

It’s inspiring to know that God has a plan for each of us. Every morning when we wake, He thinks of us. It’s our duty to listen to Him and learn from Him.

Which brings me to today.

Today my family and I sat in the same pew we do every Sunday morning, though today was different. I had mentally been trying to prepare myself for this Sunday for the past few weeks, though I knew nothing would be able to stop the water from rushing out of my eyes. Today, was the day that our beloved priest of the past six years moves on to his new calling.

As much as I would love it for him to stay, I know that the Lord has a plan for him to touch the hearts of many more people as he did with my heart. The Lord has a plan for him, just as He has a plan for me.

I know many people do not understand why we have priests and not simply just a married man with a wife and kids. So this week I took it upon myself to allow myself to learn why priests are so important in our faith journey and why it’s so hard to let them go when they are called to a new home.

Why have priests?

priest
The year I was confirmed! What a great day! (Myself, Priest, and Sponsor)

As Catholics, we believe that our priest is our leader within our congregation. He holds us together and teaches us about our faith. He is the one that is the one that walks with us while we learn and grow in Jesus. He’s a great teacher and a great learner.In another letter written to the Thessalonians Paul states:

“You are witnesses, and God also, how holy and righteous and blameless was our behavior to you believers; for you know how, like a father with his children, we exhorted each of you to lead a life worthy of God, who calls you into his own kingdom and glory.” (2:11-12)

Priests are similar to that of an apostle. The mission to go out and share the good news of Jesus did not die when the last Apostle John died. Instead, priests came to be the ones who preached the word to the people and forgave them of their sins just as the apostles had.

So even though I shed a few tears in mass today, I know that God’s plan is perfect. All of his puzzle pieces fit together… perfectly.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

